Blogging 101: A Personal Awakening

I just realized something: blogs change. They grow, adapt, expand, become more focused, and sometimes drift off course.  It’s such a pleasant and liberating experience, one that I’ve been anticipating for a long time.

Now that I’m in the game, I’ve been thinking a lot about this blog. I definitely love it.  And thank you so much to everyone for all your support so far.  I hope you will bear with me while I clarify a few ideas and let the blog expand and grow as I do.  I’ll be tweaking things here and there along the way, and will do my best to keep you posted on all these new insights that are flooding through my being.

I suddenly realized that I needed to make an important distinction about the title of my blog.  I am sharing “my” black experience, not necessarily “the” black experience.  I don’t presume to speak for everyone who resonates with being black or who considers themselves a person of color.  And I’m certainly not trying to be the “black interpreter”, you know, that one guy who tries to explain stuff to white people.  Yeah, that’s not me.  What I’m striving for is a connection.  A chance to honestly and openly discuss this lens that sharpens my view of the world.  I hope my thoughts resonate, and I hope it gets you thinking also. Then maybe we can compare ideas, share insights, and build a more nuanced and complex vision of this journey called life.

Whew! Confession is good for the soul. So once again, thanks for all the follows and the wonderful support.  Tweaks are coming and everything’s up for grabs: the title, my about page, the visual layout, etcetera, etcetera.  It’s an exciting time for me!  As always, your suggestions, feedback and ideas are much appreciated.

PEACE!!

 

2 comments on “Blogging 101: A Personal Awakening

  1. I get it. I’m allowing my personal blog to take on its own life as well. I’ve had a bit of a difficult time putting “Pen to paper,” (Thumbs to phone keypad)… But I do get ideas that change overnight. Blogging is cathartic for me. Having a follower or two lifts the spirit. We all need a follower or two. I’m not sure how I would feel if I had thousands. Probably much more responsible. However I, myself, will be getting busy a trying to put shape to my blog and get it going. My only advice or thoughts are that I’d like to see an image in your blog, even a cartoon – anything that may coincide with your thoughts. There you have it but then I’m the photographer type so I’m always thinking like that. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

